Welcome to
The Mill House Bed & Breakfast
Shalbourne

The Mill House Bed & Breakfast  ShalbourneThe Mill House B & B is situated in an area of outstanding natural beauty in the beautiful village of Shalbourne, within five minutes of the Town of Hungerford and twenty minutes from the town of Marlborough. Nestled in the county of Wiltshire bordering Berkshire & Hampshire. We are situated about twenty minutes from junction 14 on the M4, about an hour from London.

On entering the Georgian Mill House you are transported to a feeling of calm and tranquillity, perfect as an artists retreat, the hall opens up into the gallery which overlooks the mill stream and garden. There you can relax in front of the woodburner with the sound of the water as it continues its journey under the house. You then continue through to two double bedrooms one with ensuite facilities the other with private shower room, all rooms have television and Wi-Fi.

The much loved garden is a haven for wildlife, we have resident swans and most days the kingfisher can be seen from the kitchen window. There are five acres of water gardens to wander through with a bamboo grove and hazelnut walk ideal for setting up an easel for a few hours or just relaxing. Drawing workshops/tuition by Sara Sturgeon available by arrangement (see www.sarasturgeon.co.uk/ to view portraits, sculptures and other artworks ).

Breakfast is served in the dining room full English with Local organic produce, fresh fruit yoghurt and cereals also available. All served with fresh coffee or tea. Check in time 4pm, Check out time 10.30am. Room rates are £90.00 for double occupancy, £75.00 for single occupancy. Deposit £35 to secure room, taken at time of booking. Book now - e-mail:info@@millhousebandbshalbourne.co.uk or tel: 01672 870913

We are also close to many large shooting estates, walkers & cyclists welcome, boot room and secure space for bicycles and other muddy stuff.

See www.walkinginwiltshire.org.uk/walks.htm for places to walk.

The Village

Local Pub: The Plough
Shalbourne Stores: Our very well stocked village shop & post office, serves a great cappuccino. www.shalbournestores.co.uk
Shalbourne gliding club - www.shalbournegliding.co.uk

Local Pub:

Indigo Palace our local Indian restaurant at the Crown & Anchor at Ham. www.indigopalace.co.uk/

Things to do and places to see:

The town of Hungerford is situated on the River Kennet and the Kennet & Avon Canal. A picturesque market town with a renowned selection of Antique arcades & shops, with a wide selection of contemporary shops including designer clothes, lingerie & jewellery through to shooting & fishing paraphernalia.

Art & History

Roche Court private sculpture park approx 50 minutes - www.sculpture.uk.com
Sandham Memorial Chapel built in the 1920's for the artist Stanley Spencer approx 25 minutes. www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Avebury Stone Circle & Manor - www.avebury-web.co.uk
Silbury Hill - www.avebury-web.co.uk/silbury_hill.html
West Kennet Long Barrow - www.avebury-web.co.uk/wk_lbarrow.html
Savernake Forest - www.savernakeestate.co.uk
Stonehenge -www.stonehenge.co.uk
Crofton Beam Engines www.croftonbeamengines.org/intro.html
Wilton Windmill www.wiltonwindmill.co.uk

Houses & Gardens

Highclere Castle approx 35 minutes - www.highclerecastle.co.uk
Stourhead approx 1 hr 10 minutes - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/stourhead
Bowood House approx 1hr - www.bowood-house.co.uk
Mottisfont approx 1hr - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/mottisfont
Lacock Abbey and the village of Lacock - www.nationaltrust.org.uk/lacock
Heale Garden Amesbury approx 45 minutes - www.healegarden.co.uk
Littlecote House approx 10 minutes.

Local Microlight Flying club

Only a short drive away is GSAviation, a friendly Microlight flying club, where you can enjoy a trial flight exerience, subject to the weather. http://www.gsaviation.co.uk

The Mill House, Mill Lane, Shalbourne, Wiltshire, SN8 3XA

Tel: 01672 870913 | e-mail: info@millhousebandbshalbourne.co.uk